About Us > Press Center > U.S. Interior Secretary Appoints Advisory Council for the Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Tra

The National Park Service Chesapeake Bay Office announced the appointment of 24 members to the Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail Advisory Council.

Released 04/21/2011
Annapolis, Md

The National Park Service Chesapeake Bay Office announced the appointment of 24 members to the Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail Advisory Council. Members of the Council, appointed by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar, will consult with the Secretary and the National Park Service on matters related to the trail, including trail management, public access, recreation opportunities, and interpretive programs along the trail route. The Advisory Council is authorized through 2021.
Bill Pencek, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Division of Tourism, Film, & the Arts, Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development, will serve as chair of the Council. Mr. Pencek also serves as Executive Director of the Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission. Council members will serve two year terms. As per the Council charter, the state of Maryland, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the District of Columbia are represented as are non-governmental organizations.
“Advisory Council members will be instrumental in guiding trail and byway development,” said Bill Pencek, Advisory Council chair. “There is much work to be done, and at a fast pace, to coincide with Maryland, Virginia, and District of Columbia bicentennial celebrations.” John Maounis, trail Superintendent, said that “The trail Council, made up of individuals with expert knowledge in their fields, will help guide development of a trail rich in educational and recreational experiences for the public.”
Members of the Council are as follows:

  • Virginia Apyar, National Society United States Daughters of 1812
  • Hal Ashman, Baltimore County, Maryland
  • Michael Bojokles, Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium
  • James Piper Bond, Living Classrooms Foundation
  • Jeffrey Buchheit, Baltimore City National Heritage Area
  • William Bushong, White House Historical Association
  • Robert Etgen, Eastern Shore Land Conservancy
  • Celeste Furey, Friends of Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum
  • Brent Glass, Smithsonian Institution, NMAH
  • Linda Harper, Cultural Tourism DC
  • Elizabeth Hughes, Maryland Historical Trust
  • Walter Lee James, Jr., Mayor of Bladensburg, Maryland
  • Kathleen Kilpatrick, Virginia Department of Historic Resources
  • Vincent Leggett, Historian
  • J. Lance Mallamo, Office of Historic Alexandria (VA)
  • John Maounis, National Park Service
  • Kim Nielsen, Department of Defense, United States Navy
  • Samuel Parker, Maryland-National Capital Park & Planning Commission
  • Neil Pedersen, Maryland Highway Administration
  • William Pencek, Chair, State of Maryland, Division of Tourism, Film, & the Arts
  • Nita Settina, Maryland Park Service
  • Charles Stek, Chesapeake Conservancy
  • Kent Whitehead, Trust for Public Land
  • M. Hall Worthington, National Society of the War of 1812

Interactive Content

Attend an Event


Find a fun and exciting event to attend!

Learn More

Learn and Explore


Get the trail's history and travel guide.

Learn More

Get the App!

Chesapeake Explorer app image

Download our FREE mobile app!

Learn More